Current Environment:

Meet Our Team

Our CDKL5 Center of Excellence is led by neurologist Heather Olson, MD, in Boston Children’s Division of Epilepsy and Clinical Neurophysiology. Also on the faculty of Harvard Medical School, Dr. Olson previously trained at Mayo Medical School and completed residencies and fellowships at Harvard Medical School/Boston Children's. She has received the Infantile Spasms Award from the Child Neurology Foundation and has multiple publications in the field of epilepsy genetics. She also participates in Boston Children’s Epilepsy Genetics Program and Fetal-Neonatal Neurology Program, broadening her expertise in managing neurologic challenges in children with CDKL5 mutations.

The team also involves physicians from a variety of specialties including: Neurology, Neuro-Ophthalmology, Orthopedics, Gastroenterology, Feeding team, and Genetics.


Read more about David K. Urion, MD, FAAN

Director of Education, Department of Neurology; Director of Behavioral Neurology Clinics and Programs, Department of Neurology

Associate Professor of Neurology, Harvard Medical School

Read more about Elana M. Bern, MD, MPH

Co-Director, ARFID Program; Attending Physician, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School

Read more about Gena Heidary, MD, PhD

Ophthalmologist, Department of Ophthalmology; Director, Neuro-Ophthalmology Service, Director, Pediatric Ophthalmology Fellowship Program

Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School

Read more about M. Timothy Hresko, MD

Director of Spine Research and Quality Improvement, Department of Orthopedic Surgery

Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, Harvard Medical School

Read more about Jonathan Picker, MD, PhD

Director, Fragile X Program; Director, Pharmacogenomic Service; Assistant in Medicine, Division of Genetics and Genomics

Assistant Professor, Harvard Medical School

Speech-Language Pathologists

Read more about Kara Larson, MS, CCC-SLP

Director, Feeding and Swallowing Program; Speech-Language Pathologist; Clinical Coordinator, Department of Otolaryngology and Communication Enhancement

Read more about Jennifer Perez, MS, CCC-SLP

Clinical Coordinator, Feeding and Swallowing Program

Genetic Counselors

Read more about Lindsay C. Swanson, MS, CGC

Genetic Counseling Program Manager, Department of Neurology