CDKL5 Clinic | Meet Our Team

Our CDKL5 Center of Excellence is led by neurologist Heather Olson, MD, in Boston Children’s Division of Epilepsy and Clinical Neurophysiology. Also on the faculty of Harvard Medical School, Dr. Olson previously trained at Mayo Medical School and completed residencies and fellowships at Harvard Medical School/Boston Children's. She has received the Infantile Spasms Award from the Child Neurology Foundation and has multiple publications in the field of epilepsy genetics. She also participates in Boston Children’s Epilepsy Genetics Program and Fetal-Neonatal Neurology Program, broadening her expertise in managing neurologic challenges in children with CDKL5 mutations.

The team also involves physicians from a variety of specialties including: Neurology, Neuro-Ophthalmology, Orthopedics, Gastroenterology, Feeding team, and Genetics.


David Urion MD

David K. Urion, MD, FAAN

Associate, Department of Neurology; Charles F. Barlow Chair in Neurology; Director, Education and Residency Training Programs in Clinical Neurology and Clinical Neurodevelopmental Disabilities; Director, Behavioral Neurology Clinics and Programs; Co-Chair, Ethics Advisory Committee Associate Professor of Neurology, Harvard Medical School
Elana M. Bern, MD, MPH

Elana M. Bern, MD, MPH

Attending Physician, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
Gena Heidary

Gena Heidary, MD, PhD

Ophthalmologist, Department of Ophthalmology; Director, Pediatric Neuro-Ophthalmology Service Assistant Professor, Harvard Medical School
M. Timothy Hresko, MD

M. Timothy Hresko, MD

Director of Spine Research and Quality Improvement, Department of Orthopedic Surgery Associate Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, Harvard Medical School
Jonathan Picker

Jonathan Picker, MD, PhD

Assistant in Medicine, Division of Genetics and Genomics; Director, Fragile X Program Instructor, Harvard Medical School

Speech-Language Pathologists

Kara Larson, MS, CCC-SLP

Kara Larson, MS, CCC-SLP

Speech-Language Pathologist; Clinical Coordinator, Department of Otolaryngology and Communication Enhancement
Jennifer Perez

Jennifer Perez, MS, CCC-SLP

Clinical Coordinator, Feeding and Swallowing Program

Genetic Counselors

Lindsay Swanson

Lindsay C. Swanson, MS, CGC

Licensed Genetic Counselor & Clinical Research Manager, Department of Neurology